Leslie Rocher, M.D., Senior Vice President, Chief Academic and Clinical Officer, Beaumont Health

Since his recruitment in 1989, nephrologist Leslie L. Rocher, M.D., has held several leadership positions with Beaumont Health System. He is presently senior vice president, chief academic and clinical officer for Beaumont Health. In this role, he will lead efforts to optimize the academic enterprise for Beaumont Health. He will also help with the rollout of the Centers of Excellence model of care for Beaumont Health. Dr. Rocher will continue to serve as physician-in-chief for Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak and remain a professor of internal medicine, Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine.

He received his medical degree from the University of Michigan in 1978, where he also completed a residency in internal medicine. He served as chief resident and then divided his nephrology and transplant medicine training between the University of Michigan and the Brigham and Women's Hospital, a teaching hospital of Harvard University. His career from that time forward has focused on the clinical care of patients with complex and chronic illness, clinical research, medical education, and the creation of systems of better patient care.

At Beaumont he has previously served as section head of the nephrology division, chief of the transplant program, program director of the internal medicine residency, chair of the department of internal medicine, and member of the Beaumont Foundation board. He has had leadership roles in many professional societies, most notably the National Kidney Foundation and the American Society of Transplant Physicians.

Dr. Rocher has received numerous awards including election to Alpha Omega Alpha; the Upjohn Young Investigator Award; Teacher of the Year from Beaumont Hospitals; Top Doctors in America; Champion of Hope Honoree from the National Kidney Foundation of Michigan; Metro Detroit Top Doctors; American College of Physicians Michigan Chapter Laureate Award, and Beaumont's Physician Leadership Award.